Animal Health News for Veterinarians

Veterinarians Must Register for PDMP
 
All veterinarians who are legally authorized to prescribe controlled dangerous substances (CDS) are required to register with the PDMP. Dispensing of CDS in the veterinary clinic setting is exempted from reporting to the PDMP. Separate from a veterinarian's potential role as a dispenser of CDS, if a veterinarian can legally prescribe CDS for an animal in Maryland, they are required by law to be registered with the PDMP. If you are not in possession of the qualifications to legally prescribe CDS in Maryland, you are not subject to the registration mandate. Read more.​

New ​For Equine Practitioners

Grant Applications for Spay & Neuter Projects Now Being Accepted; Application Deadline is March 31

(Jan. 19, 2017)  The state’s Spay and Neuter Grants Program, administered by the Maryland Department of Agriculture, is soliciting its latest round of applications for competitive grants that will help reduce intake and euthanasia numbers in Maryland animal shelters. Read more

Maryland Department of Agriculture Proposes New Pet Food Regulations.

(January 20, 2017) The Maryland Department of Agriculture is proposing new regulations to establish the requirements for registering pet food and specialty food prior to distribution in Maryland.​ Read more. 

Veterinary Feed Directive Now in Effect  

Effective January 1, 2017, under the Veterinary Feed Directive final ruling, animal producers will need to obtain authorization from a licensed veterinarian to use medically important antimicrobials for treatment, control and prevention of specific animal health problems. Read more:  

2017 Maryland Animal Health Fair & Show Policy

The Maryland Department of Agriculture has announced animal health requirements for the 2017 fair and show season. Under the new regulations, all cattle and swine entering Maryland fairs and shows will be required to have a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag. The new requirements also extend the previous Avian Influenza testing interval from 10 days to 21 days. Also, private sale of poultry will be allowed this year with a record of sale maintained by the fair or show operator for one year. Read more. 

High Path Avian Influenza

While we have been fortunate to date, we must remain vigilant and on-guard for a possible outbreak of High Path Avian Influenza (HPAI). With recent outbreaks in as many as 12 countries throughout Europe and Asia, it remains very possible for the disease to enter the U.S. through migratory flyways. 

For the latest updates on HPAI, visit our Bird Flu Blog​.


Veterinary Feed Directive: How will it affect beekeepers and honeybees?

Under the new regulation, both hobbyist and commercial beekeepers will no longer be able to purchase antimicrobials over the counter, and will be required to obtain a prescription for any antibiotics or antimicrobials given to their honeybees. This will help promote good beekeeping practices, and is truly the most effective way to prevent and control disease in honeybees.​ Read More.

Contacts

Dr. Michael Radebaugh
State Veterinarian 

410-841-5810 office
800-492-5590 toll free
410-841-5971 after hours

The State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners 
410-841-5862
 
Media Inquiries: Public Information Officer Jason Schellhardt, 
410-841-5889